License Requirements

How to Renew an Alaska Insurance License

How to Renew an Alaska Insurance License

Alaska Division of Insurance

Helpful Links

ph: (907) 465-2545

fax: (907) 465-2816



Find your license number

Print your license

View your CE transcript

File a renewal application

A.D. Banker Provider #: 1029

1. Review the State Requirements

In order to renew your insurance license, you must complete the required continuing education hours for the lines of insurance that you are licensed in. All of the hours must be completed and reported prior to your license renewal date to avoid a lapse in your license.


Total Hours

24 hours biennially for Producers and Adjusters

Compliance Renewal Date

Renewal date is the last day of the licensee's birth month, based on odd or even birth year. The first renewal will not be due until the licensee has been licensed for at least 24 months.

You may also need to take specific courses or earn specific credit types to renew your license. These course completions will count toward the total hour requirement.


CE Course Category Restrictions - Licensees may take courses in any line of authority; however, no more than 8 hours may be in business organization, management, or environment.

For All Licenses:

3 hrs - Producers & Adjusters must complete 3 hrs of Ethics as part of the total requirement

For Life & Health Producers:

Annuity Best Interest Training - effective January 15, 2023 See Bulletin B 22-07

4 hrs - Producers licensed on or after January 15, 2023 must complete a one-time 4-Hour Annuity Best Interest Certification Training course before selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuities. A.D. Banker & Company offers this training online or via live webinar formats; both satisfy the training requirement. The satisfaction of NAIC annuity best interest training training in another state reciprocate with Alaska. 

Long-Term Care
8/4 hrs - Producers must complete an initial 8-hour Long-Term Care (LTC) Certification Training prior to selling, soliciting, or negotiating Long-Term Care products/policies. After completing the initial requirement, producers must complete a 4-hour LTC ongoing training, due on the completion date of the 8-hour training, every 24 months thereafter. Residents who satisfy the training requirements of another state with laws similar to Alaska's law will be compliant with the requirement.

For Property & Casualty Producers:

3 hrs - Property/Casualty producers must complete a one-time 3-hour course on NFIP Flood Insurance Certification Training prior to selling flood insurance policies.

There are also additional rules about how the course hours can be applied.


A maximum of 8 hours may be carried over to the next renewal period


Courses may not be taken more than once in each renewal period

If you meet any of criteria below, you may be exempt from the continuing education requirements.


  • Non-residents
  • Individuals licensed less than two years at the time of the first license renewal (first renewal only)
  • Individuals who were licensed in Alaska prior to 1/1/1980
  • Individuals holding a temporary or retired license
  • Individuals licensed for limited lines travel insurance

2. Register for and Complete Courses

Once you have determined the renewal requirements for your license, you can register for courses. Each course has an associated credit type; when registering for courses, select courses with credit types that will help to fulfill the renewal requirements for your license.

A.D. Banker offers webinar, online, and self study courses for Alaska. You can register for courses under the Continuing Education menu at

You must fulfill the course requirements for each of the courses to have them reported.

  • Classroom and webinar course completions are based off of attendance and participation and do not require a completion exam. You must be present for the full duration of the course and be active and attentive throughout to receive credit.
  • Online and Self Study courses are self-paced. You must review the course material and pass the Certification Exam at the end to receive credit.


Online and self study exams do not require a monitor.


Once a course has been completed, the completion must be reported to the state. A.D. Banker will report the course completions to SBS.

3. File a Renewal Application

Once you have satisfied the renewal requirements for your license, you can file a renewal application at

Continuing Education Webinars: Live online "classroom" courses... NO EXAMS!

A.D. Banker & Company provides licensing information as a courtesy to our students. While reasonable attempts have been made to ensure the accuracy of this information, licensees are ultimately responsible for ensuring that they are in compliance with the requirements set forth by their state licensing entity. A.D. Banker & Company offers no guarantee of the accuracy of this information and will not be held liable in case of noncompliance with the license requirements.

  • © 2023 A.D. Banker & Company