License Requirements

How to Renew an Alabama Insurance License

How to Renew an Alabama Insurance License

Alabama Updates


Alabama Department of Insurance

Helpful Links

ph: (334) 241-4126

fax: (334) 240-3282



Find your license number

Print your license

View your CE transcript

File a renewal application

A.D. Banker Provider #: 23301844

1. Review the State Requirements

In order to renew your insurance license, you must complete all required continuing education hours for the lines of insurance that you are licensed in. All of the hours must be completed and reported prior to your license renewal date to avoid a lapse in your license.


Total Hours

24 hours biennially for Producers and Adjusters

Compliance Renewal Date

Renewal date is the last day of the birth month, biennially, based on odd or even birth year.

You may also need to take specific courses or earn specific credit types to renew your license. These course completions will count toward the total hour requirement.


CE Course Category Restrictions - Producers may take courses in any line of authority.  Adjusters may take courses approved for Property/Casualty credit.

For All Licenses:

3 hrs - Producers & Adjusters must complete 3 hrs of Ethics as part of the total requirement

For Life & Health Producers:

Annuity Suitability - Effective until 12/31/2021
4 hrs - Producers who hold a Life line of authority must complete a one-time 4-hour Annuity Suitability Certification Training prior to selling, soliciting or negotiating annuity products.

Annuity Best Interest - Law is effective January 1, 2022 - Training can be taken immediately

1 hr - Resident and non-resident producers already certified to sell annuity products under the previous suitability standard, must complete an additional 1-hour of best interest training no later than June 30, 2022.  A.D. Banker & Company offers this training online, as well as via live webinar. Note: The new 4-Hour Annuity Best Interest course (online or webinar) also satisfies the required 1-hour of updated content training.

4 hrs - Resident and non-resident producers licensed on or after January 1, 2022, must complete a one-time 4-Hour Annuity Best Interest Certification Training course prior to selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products in Alabama.

Annuity best interest training courses completed in any other state that has adopted the NAIC 2020 Annuity Model Law updates reciprocate with the Alabama requirement.

Long-Term Care
8/4 hrs - Producers must complete an initial 8-hour Long-Term Care (LTC) Certification Training prior to selling, soliciting, or negotiating Long-Term Care products/policies. After completing the initial requirement, producers must complete a 4-hour LTC ongoing training, due every renewal thereafter.

For Property & Casualty Producers:

3 hrs - Property/Casualty producers must complete a one-time 3-Hour course on NFIP Flood Insurance Certification Training prior to selling flood insurance policies.

There are also additional rules about how the course hours can be applied.


Carryover hours are not allowed.


Courses may not be taken more than once in each renewal period

If you meet any of criteria below, you may be exempt from the continuing education requirements.


  • Non-residents
  • Producers or service representatives who are employed by another producer or insurer to work only in the office of the employer and who do not hold a non-resident license in another state, must complete 1/2 of the required hours
  • Individuals who are at least 60 years of age and have been continuously license in Alabama for at least 15 years
  • Individuals holding an active CLU, CPCU, CIC, ChFC, CFP, RHU, REBC, CHC or ARM designation
  • Individuals licensed only for lines of insurance for which a license exam is not required
  • Individuals licensed only for credit insurance, industrial fire insurance, rental vehicle, motor club, dental services or legal services
  • Insurance company officers who are not engaged in the active sale of products
  • Individuals licensed less than one year at the time of the first CE compliance date are exempt for the that first renewal period

2. Register for and Complete Courses

Once you have determined the renewal requirements for your license, you can register for courses. Each course has an associated credit type; when registering for courses, select courses with credit types that will help to fulfill the renewal requirements for your license.

A.D. Banker offers webinar, online, and self study courses for Alabama. You can register for courses under the Continuing Education menu at

You must fulfill the course requirements for each of the courses to have them reported.

  • Classroom and webinar course completions are based off of attendance and participation and do not require a completion exam. You must be present for the full duration of the course and be active and attentive throughout to receive credit.
  • Online and Self Study courses are self-paced. You must review the course material and pass the Certification Exam at the end to receive credit.*


*Online and self study exams are required to be monitored by a disinterested third party (a person who is not a friend and who has no family or financial relationship).


Once a course has been completed, the completion must be reported to the state. A.D. Banker will report the course completions to SBS. The producer will attach copies of certificates to the license renewal form.

3. File a Renewal Application

Once you have satisfied the renewal requirements for your license, you can file a renewal application at

Continuing Education Webinars: Live online "classroom" courses... NO EXAMS!

A.D. Banker & Company provides licensing information as a courtesy to our students. While reasonable attempts have been made to ensure the accuracy of this information, licensees are ultimately responsible for ensuring that they are in compliance with the requirements set forth by their state licensing entity. A.D. Banker & Company offers no guarantee of the accuracy of this information and will not be held liable in case of noncompliance with the license requirements.