License Requirements


How to Renew an Arizona Insurance License

How to Renew an Arizona Insurance License

Updated: April 28, 2022

A.D. Banker Provider #: 10016108

Get Started

On this page, you’ll find a comprehensive guide to renewing your Arizona insurance license. At A.D. Banker & Company, we’re here to walk you through the process and make completing your continuing education requirements as easy and painless as possible.

We offer several different study methods to cater to your needs and help you grow as an insurance professional. Whether you’re interested in learning the latest topics in insurance CE webinars, or having unlimited access to our online CE courses, we strive to provide options that fit around your busy schedule. Each of our courses are designed to not only be straightforward and simple, but also valuable to your career.

To begin the renewal process, you will need to complete 3 steps listed below.

1. Review the State Requirements

The first step to renewing your insurance license is to review Arizona’s CE requirements. Depending on which lines of insurance you’re licensed in, the continuing education hours you’re required to complete will vary. All hours must be completed and reported prior to your license renewal date to avoid a lapse in your license.

General Requirements:

How many total hours of CE do I need to complete?

Insurance Producers and Adjusters are required to complete 48 total hours every 4 years.

What courses can I take to satisfy my total hour requirement?

You may take courses in any line of authority. At least 6 hours must be in topics approved as Ethics.

Can I take any continuing education course?

Yes. You can take any course in any line of authority as long as the course has been approved by Arizona. 

When is the renewal date for my insurance license?

The renewal date occurs every 4 years on the last day of your birth month. 

You may also need to take specific courses or earn specific credit types to renew your license. These course completions will count towards your total hour requirement.

Do extra hours completed in a previous CE period carry over?

The state of Arizona does not allow excess hours to carry over into the next licensing period.

Can I repeat Continuing Education courses for credit? 

No, you may not repeat CE courses for credit.  

Am I exempt from Continuing Education?

The following individuals are exempt from completing CE requirements:

  • Nonresidents
  • Adjusters 
  • Resident insurance agent, broker, or producer licensees who have:
    • Continuously licensed since January 1, 1995, and
    • Not held a nonresident insurance producer license in another state since January 1, 1995, and
    • Never been the subject of license suspension, revocation, or denial, or an order requiring you to cease and desist from activity or pay civil penalty or restitution

Other exemptions exist for:

  • Full-time, salaried employees of a title insurer
  • Salaried solicitors or agents of a mortgage insurer who receives no commission
  • An officer of an insurer
  • Life Agents claiming funeral exemption (selling less than $15,000 of insurance)

If your license has specialty training requirements, you will still be required to meet those specific education requirements. 

If you believe you qualify for an exemption, contact the Arizona Department of Insurance at (602) 364-3100, or submit an email inquiry.

Life & Health Producers Product-specific Requirements

Prior to selling, soliciting, or negotiating the following products, you’re required to complete initial certification training. These training hours can be applied towards the total hours needed to renew your license.

What are the requirements to sell annuities? 

Resident and non-resident producers licensed on or after January 1, 2021, must complete a one-time 4-hour Annuity Best Interest Certification Training course prior to selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products in Arizona.

            Reciprocity: Annuity Best Interest training courses completed in another state that has adopted the NAIC 2020 Annuity Model Law updates reciprocate with the Arizona requirement.

What are the requirements to sell long-term care products?

Producers licensed in Accident & Health or Sickness must complete 8 hours of initial Long-Term Care (LTC) Certification Training before selling, soliciting or negotiating Long-Term Care (LTC) products. After completing the initial requirement, producers must complete a 4-hour LTC ongoing training course, due on the completion date of the 8-hour training, every 24 months thereafter. 

Property & Casualty Producers Product-specific Requirements

Prior to selling, soliciting or negotiating the following products, you’re required to complete initial certification training. These training hours can be applied towards the total hours needed to renew your license.

What are the requirements to sell flood insurance?

Property/Casualty producers must complete a one-time 3-hour NFIP Flood Insurance Certification Training course prior to selling flood insurance policies.


2. Register for and Complete Courses

Once you have determined the renewal requirements for your license, you are ready to choose and register for insurance continuing education courses. You may complete your hours through webinars, online courses, or any combination thereof. These options allow you to decide how to best fit your continuing education into your existing schedule.

Each course is listed with an associated credit type. You must select courses that have the appropriate credit types for fulfilling the renewal requirements for your license.

Webinars: Completion is based on attendance and participation. You must be present for the full duration of the course, and you must be active throughout to receive credit. There is no certification exam required. 

Online courses: Completion is self-paced. You must review the course material and pass the Certification Exam at the end to receive credit. Certification exams do not require a monitor.

A.D. Banker will report your completed hours to the Arizona Department of Insurance within 1 business day.
 


3. File a Renewal Application

Once you have completed your courses and satisfied the renewal requirements for your license, you will need to file a renewal application. The online application will guide you through the renewal process. Upon successful renewal, your licensing record will be updated on the Arizona Department of Insurance's website, and your renewed license can be immediately obtained using the state’s Print or Download Your License service.

We’re Here to Help

Ready to start fulfilling your continuing education requirements? Get started online now or call A.D. Banker’s direct enrollment line at 1-(800)-866-2468. Courses can be completed online and through live webinars. A.D. Banker’s customer care team is available to assist with any questions and create a course plan for you. 

Course completions are automatically reported daily and are approved to satisfy LTC, AML, Annuity Suitability, Flood, Ethics, and other state-specific requirements.

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I find my license number?

To find your license number and other additional details relating to your license, use Arizona’s Check a License service.

How do I print my license?

Your license can be printed online through the Arizona Department of Insurance’s License Download Service.

How do I view my Continuing Education (CE) transcript?

Your continuing education transcript can be accessed by making an inquiry through Sircon. Your transcript will show the number of hours you’ve completed.

What do I need to have with me when I’m renewing my license?

When you are ready to renew your license online, you should gather the following items to ensure the smoothest process possible:

  • The renewal email reminder you received, which will contain:
    • Your license number; and
    • The 6-digit renewal ID number
  • A credit card or debit card
  • Your email address

If you did not receive a renewal notice, you can still complete your online renewal using the last 4 digits of your social security number, your license number, and your date of birth.

How will I know when my license is renewed? 

Once you have successfully completed the renewal process, your renewed license can be immediately obtained using the state’s Print or Download Your License service. Your licensing record will be updated on the Arizona Department of Insurance's website.

What if my license renewal is late?

If your license renewal is late, a $100 penalty fee is required to late renew your license. In Arizona, you have one calendar year from the expiration date of your license to renew an expired license. During this time, you will not be able to transact insurance business until the license is renewed. If the expired license is not renewed within one year, you will need to file a new application, appointment(s), fees, and if required, complete prelicensing education and pass the qualifying exam.

For additional information on late renewals, consult the Arizona Department of Insurance.
 

Continuing Education Webinars: Live online "classroom" courses... NO EXAMS!

A.D. Banker & Company provides licensing information as a courtesy to our students. While reasonable attempts have been made to ensure the accuracy of this information, licensees are ultimately responsible for ensuring that they are in compliance with the requirements set forth by their state licensing entity. A.D. Banker & Company offers no guarantee of the accuracy of this information and will not be held liable in case of noncompliance with the license requirements.



  • © 2022 A.D. Banker & Company