License Requirements

How to Renew a Minnesota Insurance License

How to Renew a Minnesota Insurance License


Minnesota Department of Commerce

Helpful Links

ph: (651) 539-1599 or (800) 657-3978

fax: (651) 296-8591



Find your license number

Print your license

View your CE transcript

File a renewal application

Updated July 20, 2022

A.D. Banker Provider #: 8338

1. Review the State Requirements

In order to renew your insurance license, you must complete the required continuing education hours for the lines of insurance that you are licensed in. All of the hours must be completed and reported prior to your license renewal date to avoid a lapse in your license.


Total Hours

24 hours biennially for Producers and Adjusters

  • No more than 1/2 of the requirement may be fulfilled through insurance company sponsored classes.

Compliance Renewal Date

Renewal date is the last day of the licensee's birth month, biennially. The first renewal will not be due until after the producer has been licensed for at least 12 months (it will occur between 12 and 24 months).

You may also need to take specific courses or earn specific credit types to renew your license. These course completions will count toward the total hour requirement.


CE Course Category Restrictions - Licensees may take courses in any line of authority.  No more than 50% of requirement may be company-sponsored courses.

For All Licenses:

3 hrs - Producers and Adjusters must complete 3 hrs of Ethics as part of the total requirement.

For Life & Health Producers:

Annuity Best Interest Training

4 hr - Resident and non-resident producers holding a life line of authority on or after January 1, 2023, who desire to sell annuities must complete a one-time, 4-hour Best Interest Standards of Conduct for Annuity Sales training course. Webinar and online courses are approved and available now. 

MN Commerce Department Memo and FAQs

1 hr - Minnesota licensed resident and non-resident producers who have already completed an NAIC Model Act based, 4-hour Annuity Suitability training course in Minnesota or another state, must complete either the approved 1-hour OR 4-hour course entitled "Best Interest Standards of Conduct for Annuity Sales" no later than June 30, 2023 to maintain national NAIC compliance. Completion of NAIC Annuity Best Interest training in another state is reciprocal in Minnesota.

Long-Term Care
8/4 hrs - Producers must complete an initial 8-hour Long-Term Care (LTC) Certification Training prior to selling, soliciting, or negotiating Long-Term Care products/policies. After completing the initial requirement, producers must complete a 4-hour ongoing LTC training, due on or before the completion date of the 8-hour training, every 24 months thereafter. The training must be specific to MN Medicaid/Medical Assistance and it's relationship to MN Partnership plans. Non-resident producers wishing to sell Minnesota LTC Partnership policies, and who have completed an initial 8-hour LTC Partnership course in another state, must take a 2-hour LTC training course, specific to Minnesota.

For Property & Casualty Producers:

3 hrs - Property/Casualty and Personal lines producers must complete a one-time 3-hour course on NFIP Flood Insurance Certification Training prior to selling flood insurance policies.

There are also additional rules about how the course hours can be applied.


Carryover hours are not allowed.


Courses may not be taken more than once in a reporting period.

If you meet any of criteria below, you may be exempt from the continuing education requirements.


  • Individuals licensed less than 6 months prior to the first renewal date are exempt for the first renewal period
  • Individuals holding a limited-lines license that does not require an exam
  • Non-residents (except for the LTC requirement)

2. Register for and Complete Courses

Once you have determined the renewal requirements for your license, you can register for courses. Each course has an associated credit type; when registering for courses, select courses with credit types that will help to fulfill the renewal requirements for your license.

A.D. Banker offers webinar, online, and self study courses for Minnesota. You can register for courses under the Continuing Education menu at

You must fulfill the course requirements for each of the courses to have them reported.

  • Classroom and webinar course completions are based off of attendance and participation and do not require a completion exam. You must be present for the full duration of the course and be active and attentive throughout to receive credit.
  • Interactive Online courses are "timed" courses.  You must complete all content, quizzes and time before gaining access to the Certification Exam.  You must pass the Certification Exam with 70% or greater to receive credit.


*Self study exams are required to be monitored by a disinterested third party (a person with no family or financial relationship). Relatives, spouses, friends, neighbors, and co-workers are not acceptable monitors. Interactive online courses do not require a monitor.


Once a course has been completed, the completion must be reported to the state. A.D. Banker will report the course completions to Sircon.

3. File a Renewal Application

Once you have satisfied the renewal requirements for your license, you can file a renewal application at You may renew your license no more than 60 days before its expiration date.

Continuing Education Webinars: Live online "classroom" courses... NO EXAMS!

A.D. Banker & Company provides licensing information as a courtesy to our students. While reasonable attempts have been made to ensure the accuracy of this information, licensees are ultimately responsible for ensuring that they are in compliance with the requirements set forth by their state licensing entity. A.D. Banker & Company offers no guarantee of the accuracy of this information and will not be held liable in case of noncompliance with the license requirements.

  • © 2023 A.D. Banker & Company