License Requirements


How to Renew a New York Insurance License

How to Renew a New York Insurance License

Updated: April 6, 2022

A.D. Banker Provider #: NYPO-100269

A.D. Banker is monitoring changes and accommodations made due to the ongoing pandemic. Visit our COVID-19 update page to see the latest responses from your state. 

Get Started

On this page, you’ll find a comprehensive guide to renewing your New York insurance license. At A.D. Banker & Company, we’re here to walk you through the process and make completing your continuing education requirements as easy and painless as possible.

We offer several different study methods to cater to your needs and help you grow as an insurance professional. Whether you’re interested in learning the latest topics in insurance CE webinars, or having unlimited access to our online CE courses, we strive to provide options that fit around your busy schedule. Each of our courses are designed to not only be straightforward and simple, but also valuable to your career.

To begin the renewal process, you will need to complete 3 steps listed below.


1. Review the State Requirements

The first step to renewing your insurance license is to review New York’s CE requirements. Depending on which lines of insurance you’re licensed in, the continuing education hours you’re required to complete will vary. All hours must be completed and reported prior to your license renewal date to avoid a lapse in your license. The New York Department of Financial Services recommends completing your hours at least 60 days before your license expires.

General Requirements

How many total hours of CE do I need to complete? 

Insurance agents and Adjusters licensed in a single line are required to complete 15 total hours every 2 years. Insurance agents and Adjusters with combined licenses are required to complete 30 total hours every 2 years. Courses that are approved for both LH & PC may be simultaneously applied to the licensee’s LH and PC requirements.

For licensees renewing on or after April 1, 2022, the following courses must be taken as part of the credit hour requirement: 

  • 1 hour of Insurance Law instruction
  • 1 hour of Ethics and Professionalism instruction
  • 1 hour of Diversity, Inclusion, and Elimination of Bias instruction
  • 1 hour of Flood instruction, if licensed to sell one or more lines of PC insurance
  • 3 hours of Enhanced Flood insurance instruction, if the licensee sells flood insurance through the NFIP. For PC producers, this 3-hour Enhanced Flood requirement per renewal cycle is in addition to the 1-hour of Flood instruction, for a total of 4 hours per license cycle. (Newly licensed PC and Personal Lines producers must complete the FEMA required, one-time 3-hour NFIP Flood Insurance Certification Training course prior to selling flood insurance policies.)

Note: A licensee can renew up to 180 days prior to their expiration date. This means that licensee with expiration dates through September 20, 2022 may complete their CE hours and renew prior to April 1, 2022 without being subject to these new requirements. Anyone renewing on or after April 1 will have to complete the new CE requirements. 

For more information on this new requirement, see this memo from Acting Superintendent Adrienne A. Harris.

What courses can I take to satisfy my total hour requirement? 

In general, you must take courses approved for the line(s) of insurance you’re licensed to sell

For instance, if you’re a personal lines broker or a limited lines automobile agent, you can take any approved property and casualty course. If you’re an insurance agent with a life license, you can take courses approved as life.

However, agents who hold both Life/Health and Property/Casualty licenses must complete the full CE requirements in both LH and PC—15 hours in each. Bridge Courses that are approved for both LH & PC may be simultaneously applied to the licensee’s LH and PC requirements.

Can I take any continuing education course? 

No. You can only take courses that are approved for the line(s) of insurance you are licensed to sell. 

When is the renewal date for my insurance license? 

The renewal date occurs every 2 years on your birthday. Licensees born in odd-numbered years renew in odd-numbered years, and licensees born in even-numbered years renew in even-numbered years.

Public Adjusters renew on December 31 of even numbered years.

Life & Health Agent Product-Specific Requirements

Prior to selling, soliciting or negotiating the following products, you’re required to complete initial certification training. These training hours can be applied towards the total hours needed to renew your license.

What are the requirements to sell life insurance and annuities? 

Annuity and Life Insurance Suitability and Best Interest requirements became effective in New York with amendments made to Regulation 187. Changes to Reg 187 affect recommendations by any agent licensed to sell life insurance and annuities in New York. Each insurance company is now responsible for ensuring that every agent recommending its annuity and life insurance products is adequately trained to make the recommendation. 

A.D. Banker offers both online and live webinar courses to satisfy Reg 187 training requirements

What are the requirements to sell Long-Term Care Partnership products?

As of January 1, 2021, there are no insurers offering new Partnership policy purchases in New York State. Historically, the Partnership Agent Training Certification Course was required for any insurer to sell or market NYS Partnership policies. New York still offers its 6 hour CE credit training course for BR, C1, LA, LB, LSB, and PC credit.

Property & Casualty Agent Product-Specific Requirements

Prior to selling, soliciting or negotiating the following products, you’re required to complete initial certification training. These training hours can be applied towards the total hours needed to renew your license.

What are the requirements to sell flood insurance? 

Property/Casualty and Personal Lines agents must complete a FEMA-based one-time 3-hour NFIP Flood Insurance Certification Training course prior to selling flood insurance policies. Note that this course will not satisfy the 3-hour Enhanced Flood training CE requirement, but WILL count as CE credit towards an agents first renewal cycle.

Do extra hours completed in a previous CE period carry over? 

No. Carryover hours are not allowed. 

Can I repeat Continuing Education courses for credit? 

No. You will not receive credit for any course previously completed for continuing education credit. You are responsible for maintaining your own records of the courses you complete and ensuring you do not repeat courses. 

Am I exempt from Continuing Education? 

If you meet any of the criteria below, you may be exempt from completing continuing education to renew your license:

  • Non-residents
  • Independent Adjusters
  • Individuals holding limited lines licenses for which a license exam was not required in NY
  • Newly licensed individuals who have held their license for less than a full 2-year period
  • Individuals on active military duty 

2. Register for and Complete Courses

Once you have determined the renewal requirements for your license, you are ready to choose and register for insurance continuing education courses. You may complete your hours through webinars, online courses, or any combination of the two. These options allow you to decide how to best fit your continuing education into your existing schedule.

Each course is listed with an associated credit type. You must select courses that have the appropriate credit types for fulfilling the renewal requirements for your license.

Webinars: Completion is based on attendance and participation. You must be present for the full duration of the course, and you must be active throughout to receive credit. There is no certification exam required. 

Online courses: Completion is self-paced. You must review the course material and pass the Certification Exam at the end to receive credit. Certification exams do not require a monitor.

A.D. Banker will report your completed hours to the New York Department of Financial Services within 1 business day.


3. File a Renewal Application

Once you have completed your courses and satisfied the renewal requirements for your license, you will need to file a renewal application. The online application will guide you through the renewal process. 


We're Here to Help

Ready to start fulfilling your continuing education requirements? Get started online now or call A.D. Banker’s direct enrollment line at 1-(800)-866-2468. Courses can be completed online, through live webinars, and through self-study. A.D. Banker’s customer care team is available to assist with any questions and create a course plan for you. 

Course completions are automatically reported daily and are approved to satisfy LTC, AML, Annuity Suitability, Flood, Ethics, and other state-specific requirements.


Frequently Asked Questions

How do I find my license number? 

To find your license number and other additional details relating to your license, use New York’s Producer/Licensee Search.

How do I print my license? 

Your license can be printed online through the New York Department of Financial Services’ License Portal.

What do I need to have with me when I'm renewing my license? 

When you are ready to renew your license online, you should gather the following items to ensure the smoothest process possible:

  • Your username, which is the numeric portion of your New York Insurance license
  • Your password, which is the last 4 digits of your SSN and your 8-digit date of birth in (MMDDYYYY) format

How will I know when my license is renewed? 

You will be notified when your license has been issued. The notification will include instructions on how to obtain your license number and print your license. You can check the status of your license at any time by visiting New York’s Producer/Licensee Search.

What if my license renewal is late? 

Your license will expire. 

If your license expired within the last 2 years, you may complete a relicensing application. You must complete all CE requirements to relicense. 

If your license has been expired for more than 2 years, you must requalify for the license. You will need to retake the exam and submit a paper application with the passing score report and fee. 

Continuing Education Webinars: Live online "classroom" courses... NO EXAMS!

A.D. Banker & Company provides licensing information as a courtesy to our students. While reasonable attempts have been made to ensure the accuracy of this information, licensees are ultimately responsible for ensuring that they are in compliance with the requirements set forth by their state licensing entity. A.D. Banker & Company offers no guarantee of the accuracy of this information and will not be held liable in case of noncompliance with the license requirements.