License Requirements


How to Get a Tennessee Insurance License

How to Get a Tennessee Insurance License

COVID-19 Updates

8/17/20:  Pearson VUE and Tennessee will be offering remote proctoring and are negotiating a release date in 2020 or early 2021.  Learn more about Pearson VUE's online proctoring program, OnVUE.
5/01/20:  Pearson VUE testing is available on a limited basis due to social distancing precautions and varies by location.
4/24/20:  Tennessee issues Bulletin 20-09 which outlines the issuance of temporary producer licenses.

Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance

Testing Provider (Pearson VUE)

(615) 741-2693 / (888) 416-0868

(800) 274-4957

 

A.D. Banker Provider #: 1281

1. Complete a Prelicensing Course

If you would like to sell insurance in Tennessee, you must complete an approved line of prelicensing education and pass the state licensing exam. Insurance prelicensing courses are provided by A.D. Banker & Company in many different formats: classroom, web classes, online courses, or self-study. All courses are cross-referenced with the exam content outline.

To satisfy the requirements for your course, you will need to pass a Certification Exam.  The Certification Exam is not monitored.  After passing the Certification Exam with a 70% or greater, you will receive a Certificate of Completion. Prelicensing education is valid for six (6) months from the date of completion; you will need to take and pass your state exam within this timeframe.

Line

Hours

Life

20

Accident & Health

20

Life, Accident & Health

40

Property

20

Casualty

20

Property & Casualty

40

Personal Lines

30

2. Pass a Licensing Exam

Making Exam Reservations

Licensing exams are provided by Pearson VUE. An exam fee must be paid at the time of reservation by credit card, debit card, voucher or electronic check. You can make an exam reservation through the following methods:

  • Online:  Make an online reservation at http://www.pearsonvue.com/tn/insurance at least 24 hours before the desired exam date or 5 days in advance if paying by electronic check
  • Phone: (800) 274-4957
    • Before you call, you must have the following:
      • Legal name, address, Social Security number, daytime phone number, and date of birth
      • Name of the exam
      • Preferred  exam date and test center location

What to Bring

Two forms of current signature identification:

  • A primary ID (photograph and signature, not expired) such as a Driver’s License or Passport
  • A secondary ID (signature, not expired) such as a Debit or Credit card

You will be required to supply a copy of your Certificate of Completion in order to be admitted to the exam.

Exam Procedures

  • Report to the test center 30 minutes before the exam to verify identification and be photographed for the score report.
  • No personal items are allowed in the testing room such as cell phones, watches, wallets, or purses.
  • Studying is not allowed in the test center.
  • The test administrator will provide you with materials to make notes or calculations. You may not write on these items before the exam begins or remove these items from the testing room.
  • You will have the opportunity to take a tutorial that will not reduce the exam time.

Exam Format

  • Each major line exam is given in a multiple-choice format.
  • The exam consists of two parts:
    1. The general section deals with basic insurance product knowledge
    2. The state section deals with insurance laws, rules, and regulations, and practices that are unique to Tennessee
  • Each exam contains “pretest” questions that are mixed in with the scored questions and are not identified. Pretest questions may not be covered in your educational materials and do not affect your final score!
  • The passing score required on each exam is 70.
  • When you complete the exam, you will receive a score report marked “pass or fail”.
  • Candidates who fail will receive a score report that includes a numeric score, diagnostic and re-testing information.

Re-Examination Requirements

  • Candidates failing for the first time must wait ten (10) days before retaking the exam.  After each subsequent attempt the candidate must wait thirty (30) days before retaking the exam.
  • Public Adjuster candidates must wait at least thirty (30) days before retaking the exam.
  • All test takers (EXCEPT Public Adjuster candidates) who have not successfully passed the exam within six (6) months of the first attempt shall be required to retake prelicensing education coures.
  • Public Adjuster candidates who have not successfully passed the PA exam after 3 attempts must wait one (1) year before retaking the exam.  The candidate must also file a new application with the State and pay appropriate fees.
  • All candidates must wait twenty-four (24) hours before making a reservation to retake an examination.  All application attachments will be returned to candidates for use in retaking an examination.

Tennessee Exam Information

Exam Name

Exam Time

Scoreable Questions

Pretest Questions

Total Questions

Life*

1 hr 45 min

68

14

82

Accident and Health*

1 hr 45 min

68

14

82

Property*

1 hr 45 min

68

14

82

Casualty*

1 hr 45 min

68

14

82

Personal Lines Agent

2 hrs

100

17

117

Public Adjuster**

1 hr

50

0

50

*Life and Accident and Health or Property and Casualty can be booked as a combination for a single testing fee

**Only available at the Knoxville, Memphis, and Nashville test centers

3. Get Fingerprinted

Contact L-1 Enrollment Services at www.L1enrollment.com or (855) 226-2937 to set up a fingerprinting appointment.

4. Apply for a License

After passing the exam, apply for your license by completing an application at http://www.nipr.com

A.D. Banker Prelicensing Course Free Trial

A.D. Banker & Company provides licensing information as a courtesy to our students. While reasonable attempts have been made to ensure the accuracy of this information, licensees are ultimately responsible for ensuring that they are in compliance with the requirements set forth by their state licensing entity. A.D. Banker & Company offers no guarantee of the accuracy of this information and will not be held liable in case of noncompliance with the license requirements.