License Requirements

How to Get a Tennessee Insurance License

How to Get a Tennessee Insurance License

Updated: July 7, 2023

A.D. Banker Provider #: 1281

Get Started 

On this page, you’ll find a comprehensive guide for becoming a licensed insurance agent in Tennessee and the state requirements. We’ll walk you through the process, and we’ll be here to answer any questions you have along the way. 

Tennessee requires each person selling insurance in the state to hold an insurance producer license. You will choose which line of authority you want to be licensed in: health insurance, life insurance, property and casualty insurance, or any combination of those lines. 

Once you know which license you need, you’re ready to begin. In the State of Tennessee, there are 5 steps to getting your insurance license. 

1. Complete a Prelicensing Course

If you would like to sell insurance in Tennessee, you must pass a licensing exam. Because the exam will test your knowledge of industry information, insurance products, and state insurance laws, the best way to prepare for the exam is to take a prelicensing education course. A.D. Banker offers prelicensing courses designed to suit every learning style and will help you pass the exam on your first try. Our online courses may be supplemented with web classes and flashcards to make learning as effective as possible. 

Get Started on your Prelicensing Training Course Now

2. Pass the State Licensing Exam

After you finish your prelicensing course, you are now ready to take the state licensing exam. You must score 70% or higher to pass your state licensing exam. You will be required to pay another exam fee if you retake the test, so it is important to pass the first time.

3. Get Fingerprinted

The Tennessee Department of Commerce & Insurance requires fingerprint impressions for all unlicensed applicants that will be submitted for a background check. You can register for an appointment through Identogo using one of the corresponding codes:

  • Producers - ORI# TN920680Z
  • Public Adjusters - ORI# TN920560Z
  • Navigator/CAC - ORI# TN920783Z

4. Apply for License

After passing the exam, you are ready to submit your license application and pay the application fee through the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). You must wait 48 hours after you have passed the exam to submit your application.

5. Plan for Continuing Education

Insurance continuing education (CE) is required for all Tennessee resident insurance agents for license renewal. The CE requirements for agents are generally 24 hours every 2 years, including 3 hours of ethics training. There are additional requirements to sell certain products, such as annuities, long-term care, and flood insurance.

Nonresident license holders are currently required to adhere to their home state’s continuing education requirements. 

It’s important to stay on top of any changes to Tennessee laws and licensing requirements, which can be found on the Tennessee Department of Commerce & Insurance’s website.

We’re Here to Help

Our goal is to prepare you for your insurance licensing exam, and then guide you through your career as a licensed professional. Once you pass your exam and successfully apply for a license, your license will need to be renewed every two years. Learn more about how to renew a Tennessee insurance license by visiting our Tennessee CE requirements page.

Once you begin the process of becoming a licensed insurance professional, we’re here to help you every step of the way. Get started today by reviewing our prelicensing course catalog.

Tennessee Licensing Exam FAQ

Where will I take the state exam?

Remote exams are available to ensure accessibility and safety. These exams require you to have a computer or laptop that is compatible with OnVUE, Pearson VUE’s remote testing platform. If you do not have a compatible computer, you must schedule an in-person exam.

Exams may also be taken in-person at a Pearson VUE testing site. Exams taken at a Pearson VUE location may include an additional provider fee. 

How do I schedule my state exam?

Every insurance licensing exam is accompanied by an exam fee that must be paid by a credit or debit card, voucher, or electronic check. This fee must be paid at the time of reservation and will not be accepted at a testing center. You can schedule your state exam through Pearson VUE or by calling (800) 274-4957.

How should I prepare for my remote state exam?

Before scheduling your licensing exam, test the compatibility of your computer, webcam, and microphone. OnVUE requires the newest versions of Microsoft Edge, Safari, Google Chrome, or Firefox. Exams must be scheduled at least 24 hours in advance, and you are allowed to cancel or reschedule your exam up to 48 hours before your reservation time by calling Pearson VUE.

Next, download OnVUE. Please note that the download can take up to 30 minutes, so we recommend you do this before the day of your test to prevent any last-minute technical problems. 

Login to the testing platform 30 minutes before your exam reservation time. A state or government ID is required to be presented to verify your identity. For remote exams, a military ID or certain secure access IDs are not accepted as a valid form of identification. Check with Pearson VUE if you are unsure if your ID will be accepted for remote proctoring.

Your remote test requires you to be alone in a private room for the duration of the exam. The surface you have your computer on must be clear of all objects. You cannot have a phone, headphones, or a wristwatch on you while you are taking the exam. Food, chewing gum, and tobacco products are also prohibited. You are permitted to have a beverage. 

All exams are monitored by a third-party to ensure all testing requirements are followed. The monitors are able to answer questions that do not pertain to the content of the exam via live chat.

If technical issues occur while you are taking the exam, the proctor is there to resolve the issues in real time. If the proctor cannot resolve the issue, they will file a case on your behalf. Your exam will be rescheduled, and Pearson VUE will provide either a reimbursement or a voucher for a new exam appointment.

Candidates taking an online examination are allowed only one attempt per exam. All subsequent examination attempts must be taken at a Pearson VUE testing center.

How should I prepare for my in-person state exam?

Report to the testing center 30 minutes before your exam time for the check-in process. You will be required to present a valid government-issued ID. If you arrive late, you will not be admitted to the test center and will forfeit your exam fee. 

No personal items are allowed to be taken into the testing center. All personal items, including bags and wallets, will have to remain in your vehicle or be checked into provided storage space. Cell phones, calculators, electronic devices, and wrist watches are not allowed into the testing center. Food, chewing gum, and tobacco products are also prohibited. You are allowed to have a beverage. You must stay in the testing center for the duration of the exam. No breaks are allowed.

If you have any questions about the exam process, testing locations, or security measures, please contact Pearson VUE or Tennessee Department of Insurance.

What is the format of the state exam?

All licensing exams are taken on a computer and are multiple choice. The exam will cover both a general section with basic insurance product knowledge, and a state section with specific insurance laws, rules, regulations, and practices that are unique to Tennessee. A good prelicensing training course will feature practice exams that simulate the format of the state exams, so you should know exactly what to expect on the actual state licensing exam.

How long is the state exam?

Depending on which line of insurance you are testing on, the amount of time and number of questions on the exam vary. Exams will be 1-2 hours long and can have 50-117 questions. 

  • Life* exam is 1 hr 45 minutes with 82 questions
  • Accident and Health* exam is 1 hr 45 minutes with 82 questions
  • Property* exam is 1 hr 45 minutes with 82 questions
  • Casualty* exam is 1 hr 45 minutes with 82 questions
  • Personal Lines exam is 2 hours with 117 questions
  • Public Adjuster** exam is 1 hour with 50 questions

*Life and Accident & Health or Property & Casualty can be booked as a combination for a single testing fee. 
**Public Adjuster exams are only available at the Knoxville, Memphis, and Nashville testing centers. 

What score do I need to pass? 

For all insurance exams, you need to score 70% or higher to pass. Immediately after your exam, you will receive a pass or fail notification. 

What happens if I fail my exam?

Tennessee has specific re-examination requirements.

  • Candidates failing for the first time must wait 10 days before retaking the exam. After each subsequent attempt, the candidate must wait 30 days before retaking the exam.
  • Public Adjuster candidates must wait at least 30 days before retaking the exam.
  • Public Adjuster candidates who have not successfully passed their exam after 3 attempts must wait 1 year before retaking the exam. The candidate must also file a new application with the state and pay any appropriate fees.
  • All application attachments will be returned to candidates for use in retaking an exam.
  • You are able to reschedule a new exam after 24 hours. If you would like more detailed information, or if you have any questions about the exam process, please visit Pearson VUE’s website.

After completing your exam, you can log into your Pearson VUE account to obtain your diagnostic report indicating your strengths and weaknesses on the exam. You can send us a copy of this score report to for our team to review and respond with personalized feedback. 


A.D. Banker Prelicensing Course Free Trial

A.D. Banker & Company provides licensing information as a courtesy to our students. While reasonable attempts have been made to ensure the accuracy of this information, licensees are ultimately responsible for ensuring that they are in compliance with the requirements set forth by their state licensing entity. A.D. Banker & Company offers no guarantee of the accuracy of this information and will not be held liable in case of noncompliance with the license requirements.

  • © 2023 A.D. Banker & Company