License Requirements

How to Renew a Virginia Insurance License

How to Renew a Virginia Insurance License


Virginia Bureau of Insurance

Helpful Links

ph: (804) 371-9741

fax: (804) 371-9349



Find your license number

Print your license

View your CE transcript

File a renewal application

A.D. Banker Provider #: 124174

1. Review the State Requirements

In order to renew your insurance license, you must complete the required continuing education hours for the lines of insurance that you are licensed in. If dual licensed (LH/PC), a minimum of 8 hours must be completed in each license type held. All of the hours must be completed and reported prior to your license renewal date to avoid a lapse in your license. 


Total Hours

16 hours biennially for Producers licensed in a single line (Life/Health OR Property/Casualty)

24 hours biennially for Producers with combined licenses (Life/Health AND Property/Casualty)

Compliance Renewal Date

Agent Licensing Changes Effective January 1, 2021

  • VA insurance licenses will no longer be perpetual - they will become renewable every 2 years based on the agent's month and year of birth.
  • CE compliance deadline will be aligned with the agent's renewal date (first renewals will be February 2022).  Notices will be sent out to confirm new renewal dates.

Find more information on these upcoming changes and related documents on Pearson VUE's VA CE page.

You may also need to take specific courses or earn specific credit types to renew your license. These course completions will count toward the total hour requirement.


CE Course Category Restrictions - Licensees must take courses in license type held.  If multi-licensed (LH/PC), a minimum of 8 hours must be completed in each license type held. Only 75% of CE requirement may be earned from courses hosted by an insurance company/agency.

For All Licenses:

3 hrs - Producers must complete 3 hrs of Ethics as part of the total requirement. These 3 credit hours of insurance ethics may include insurance law and regulations.

For Life & Health Producers:

Annuity Best Interest

4 hrs - Producers licensed on or after September 1, 2021 must complete a one-time 4-Hour Annuity Best Interest Certification Training course prior to selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products in Virginia. Annuity best interest training courses completed in any other state that has adopted the NAIC 2020 Annuity Model Law updates reciprocate with the Virginia requirement. 

Long-Term Care Partnership
8/4 hrs - Producers must complete an initial 8-hour Long-Term Care Partnership (LTCP) Certification Training prior to selling, soliciting, or negotiating Long-Term Care Partnership products/policies. After completing the initial requirement, producers must complete a 4-hour ongoing LTC training, due on the completion date of the 8-hour training, every 24 months thereafter. Two of the hours of both the initial and ongoing training must be VA-specific content. (Failure to complete the ongoing 4-hour training course within 24 months of completion of the 8-hour initial course will forfeit recognition of the 8-hour initial course by the VA Dept of Insurance.)

Non-Residents who have completed an 8-hour NAIC LTC course in another state must also complete 2-hour VA-specific content on Partnerships and Medicaid (initial only).

For Property & Casualty Producers:

3 hrs - Property/Casualty and Personal lines producers must complete a one-time 3-hour course on NFIP Flood Insurance Certification Training prior to selling flood insurance policies.

There are also additional rules about how the course hours can be applied.


Excess credit hours may be carried over to the next reporting period, but must be reported in biennium in which course was taken.


Courses may not be taken more than once in a reporting period.

If you meet any of criteria below, you may be exempt from the continuing education requirements.


  • Limited lines licensees
  • Individuals who were licensed less than one year at the time of the first CE compliance date are exempt for the first reporting period
  • Individuals may request a waiver of good cause, submit to CE Administrator
  • Nonresidents
    • Non-residents are eligible for compliance based on reciprocity between the laws of VA and all other states.  Compliance with home state requirement will be verified on the PDB. Non-residents must submit filing fees to the CE administrator by February 28 following the end of the compliance period.
    • Non-residents agents selling LTC policies in Virginia must complete a 2-hour course covering VA Partnerships and Medicaid in addition to initial 8-hour training in their resident state

2. Register for and Complete Courses

Once you have determined the renewal requirements for your license, you can register for courses. Each course has an associated credit type; when registering for courses, select courses with credit types that will help to fulfill the renewal requirements for your license.

A.D. Banker offers classroom, webinar, online, and self study courses for Virginia. You can register for courses under the Continuing Education menu at

You must fulfill the course requirements for each of the courses to have them reported.

  • Classroom and webinar course completions are based off of attendance and participation and do not require a completion exam. You must be present for the full duration of the course and be active and attentive throughout to receive credit.
  • Online and Self Study courses are self-paced. You must read the course material and pass the *Certification Exam with 70% or greater receive credit.


*Self study exams are required to be monitored by a supervisor, supervisor-authorized co-worker, test administrator, or disinterested third party (an individual not related to or able to benefit from actions of the agent).

*Online course exams do not require a monitor.


Once a course has been completed, the completion must be reported to the state. A.D. Banker will report the course completions to Sircon. 

3. File a Renewal Application

Once you have satisfied the renewal requirements for your license, you can file a renewal application at

Continuing Education Webinars: Live online "classroom" courses... NO EXAMS!

A.D. Banker & Company provides licensing information as a courtesy to our students. While reasonable attempts have been made to ensure the accuracy of this information, licensees are ultimately responsible for ensuring that they are in compliance with the requirements set forth by their state licensing entity. A.D. Banker & Company offers no guarantee of the accuracy of this information and will not be held liable in case of noncompliance with the license requirements.

  • © 2023 A.D. Banker & Company